Be careful: You never know who you are speaking with

two men talking My wife and I are in the process of moving into our apartment and we have interactions with different people everyday. Yesterday a man came to put up our blinds. I met the young man at the door. He was a stocky man about my height with a shaved head and a heavy accent. I invited him in and he took off his jacket to reveal two arms full of tattoos. My first thought was, “how will I begin a conversation about the Gospel with this guy?” The door immediately opened after he shared that he is from Israel (the name “Isaac” hinted that). I told him that we were honored to have him in our home. He looked at me in a strange way and asked, “Why?”. I shared that it is because he is from the Holy Land and from God’s chosen people. After saying this he opened up to us completely. He had been raised in a Talmudic school in Israel as an ultra orthodox Jew, well versed in the Old Testament. We talked a lot about the Word of God. He told me that he would like to help me in my study of Hebrew. He is not a Christian but I feel that we will work on that in the future.

As that conversation was ending (because he had finished his work) a new worker came in to hook up the phone line. He also had an accent so I began to converse with him about where he was from. We came to find out that he was from Africa. He asked us what we wanted as a password for our Internet we told him “Jesus”. He asked how to spell the name and we told him, immediately asking did he know who Jesus is. He said yes because he is a Muslim. Next we had to set our username so we chose “Jesus is Lord”. He had to repeat the phrase several times. We invited him over and his response was, “why?”. We told him that we just wanted to have dinner with him. He agreed and gave us his number. We are praying for him and Issac, that God would open their eyes to the Gospel of Jesus Christ. Never miss an opportunity to share the Gospel.

10 comments on “Be careful: You never know who you are speaking with

  1. Hello,
    I accidently came to your website and I decided to read your story titled, “Be careful, you never know who you are speaking with.”

    It was nicely written and descriptive. You are a good writer.

    I am wondering what your response would be if someone were to ask you what your concern is in converting people to Christanity. Don’t you know that as strongly as you feel about the religion and about Jesus Christ, not everyone is of the same thinking or in agreement with it.

    My question to you is what exactly drives your desire to live your life so saturated in the concept of being a Christian that it is expressed to anybody and everybody who crosses your path?

    I don’t intend on coming across in a mean manner or anything, I have just always wondered what the motivation consists of.

    Thank you,
    Amy

  2. I appreciate your kind words. I enjoy writing and I wish I could invent more time in a day to be able to write more.

    I also appreciate your question and I will attempt to explain it as best as I can.

    I am a born again Christian. I was not born a Christian and for 18 years I did not live anything like a Christian. I was a child of the times, living for myself, thinking that I can do it all on my own. I realized as a teenager that there was more to life than what I was experiencing but I did not know how to get to that level. I tried all kinds of things to satisfy the longing that I had (a longing that I could not quite put my finger on). All of those things brought pleasure for the moment but no real satisfaction. When I was 18 I met several born again Christians who shared their faith with me and their passion for the Word of God. I had always thought that the Bible was some old boring book for old people and it could not possibly be relevant for the 20th Century man. I was totally wrong because I had never actually studied the Scriptures. I just heard what others were saying and repeated their mantras about the Bible. As I began to study the Scriptures systematically, I began to see that I was wrong and that the mantras that I was repeating were wrong as well. There developed a passion in me to know this God of the Bible that I was reading and studying about. I realized that I had made a mess of my life because I was a sinner and I needed a Savior to set me free from my slavery to sin. I was overjoyed to learn that a Savior had come to do just that. I accepted Christ and dedicated my life to serving Him. I found what I had been longing for all of my life. I have a purpose in life and it brings great fulfillment to me, both knowing and serving God as well as introducing others to Him. I have learned that we all have the same longing in our hearts and that most people try as I did, to fill it with something other than God. The fact is, God is the answer. I just want to help people experience what I have and do experience on a daily basis. I know that many will not accept it and although it saddens me I do not loose hope because God has called us to share the message while He is the One who convinces them.

    I have a question for you? If you were in the midst of a famine and you found a source of food that would feed everybody forever would you not want to share that source with others?

    We are all slaves to sin and we need freedom because slavery is misery. God has offered us a way of escape from the slavery. Those who have experienced it want others to take part in the same joy.

    I do not know where you stand in relation to God but I do know that you were born a sinner and if Christ has not set you free then you are still a slave to your sins. The good news (that is what Gospel means) is that the same thing that has happened to me can also happen to you if you will take God at His Word. Study His Word for what It is and you will see what I am talking about. If you would like help then that is what I am here for. God bless you.

    • How am I corrupting people by sharing the Gospel of Jesus Christ, which sets people free from their corrupted slavery to sin?

    • The idea of the Trinity is not a man-made term as you claim. The Trinity is presented in the Genesis chapter 1 as well as all throughout the Bible (long before the Catholic church adopted the term)

    • Hook, line, and sinker!!! I was hoping that you would ask.

      In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth.

      I do not know how well you know the Hebrew language but for singular and plural nouns there are different endings. In English we represent 2 or more nouns with “s”. In Hebrew there is singular, plural specifically for 2 and another plural for more than 2. The Hebrew word that is translated as “God” in English is elohiym. Grammatically speaking, the noun elohiym seems to be a mistake because a direct translation is a singular more than 2 Gods created the heavens and earth. If you read more in chapter 1 you find another interesting grammar “problem”

      Genesis 1:26
      Then God said, “Let Us make man in Our image, according to Our likeness; and let them rule over the fish of the sea and over the birds of the sky and over the cattle and over all the earth, and over every creeping thing that creeps on the earth.”

      “God” used here is the same as in verse 1 but in essence He is singular yet the pronoun used is plural (us, our). Once again, God is essence is more than 2 (3 in fact, the Trinity). Who are the other 2 involved? Verse 2 explains:

      Genesis 1:2
      The earth was formless and void, and darkness was over the surface of the deep, and the Spirit of God was moving over the surface of the waters.

      God the Father and God the Holy Spirit are there but what about Jesus Christ? Paul explains for us.

      Colossians 1:15-16
      15 He is the image of the invisible God, the firstborn of all creation. 16 For by Him all things were created, both in the heavens and on earth, visible and invisible, whether thrones or dominions or rulers or authorities– all things have been created through Him and for Him.

      So all 3 are there from the beginning, the Holy Trinity.

Leave a Reply

