What do you do when tempted?

Temptation is a major problem for every person on this earth. If you are breathing then you will be tempted. There is not a day that goes by when temptation does not come our way. Among Christians and nonChristians the common thread is temptation. The difference between Christians and nonChristians is how we handle temptation. I would like to look at temptation from a Biblical perspective to see why we are tempted and how we can overcome temptation every moment of every day.We are all tempted in one form or another on a daily (moment by moment) basis. The person who wants to act super holy and tell you that he/she is not tempted by sin anymore is sinning at the moment he/she says this.

The Bible tells us that all of us are tempted.

No temptation has overtaken you but such as is common to man; and God is faithful, who will not allow you to be tempted beyond what you are able, but with the temptation will provide the way of escape also, so that you will be able to endure it. (I Corinthians 10:13)

Here we see clearly that temptation is common to man so the question is not if we are tempted or not but what do we do once we are tempted. God gives us the solution in this passage.

Do not excuse yourself with the fact that temptation is too difficult for you to overcome. Many people try to excuse themselves by saying that God created them too weak or that their passions are stronger than others therefore they cannot help giving in to temptation. God clearly says that no temptation is beyond what you can handle. God knows your limits and He will not allow you to be tempted beyond what you can bear.

God will provide a way of escape out of every temptation. It never fails, when I am in a situation where I am tempted and my mind is toying with the idea of accepting the temptation or not God always intervenes. There will be a cross on the wall or a Bible verse that comes out of nowhere. I will hear a quote from the Bible or something that will get my attention. I remember one time I was looking for pictures for a sermon that I was preparing and opened a site that had a picture that I wanted to use. Little did I know that within that site there were indecent pictures so I was immediately tempted by my flesh. Below the pictures someone had written Hebrews 13:4 as a comment. I immediately saw my way of escape and jumped on it, closing the site and thanking the Lord for His help.

What do you do when you are tempted? Do you look for God’s way of escape or do you fall into temptation head over heals? God wants us to be victorious the question is, will we follow Him to victory or not?

In the next article on temptation I would like to look at an example of suffering and what the purpose of suffering is.

Leave a Reply

