Satan’s followers are just like him

While reading a comment addressed to me by an atheist (who claims that neither God not Satan exist) I was stuck by the similarities in this guy’s attitude and the attitude that Satan has in the Bible. I want to present the facts and let you be the judge.

The Bible presents Satan as a fallen angel. He was created by God. God did not create Satan evil. He created Satan to be perfect in every way. Satan did have free will to choose to obey God or not. Satan decided that he knew how to run things better than God and he decided that he would replace God as the Supreme Being of the universe. Satan failed miserably at his attempt and was cast out of his position. He is a deceiver and convinced 1/3 of the angels to join him. I do not want to get into all the details but I do want to show Satan’s attitude and make a comparison with the attitude of his followers (they follow him even if they believe with all of their hearts that he does not exist).

12 “How you have fallen from heaven, O star of the morning, son of the dawn ! You have been cut down to the earth, You who have weakened the nations ! 13 “But you said in your heart, ‘I will ascend to heaven ; I will raise my throne above the stars of God, And I will sit on the mount of assembly In the recesses of the north. 14 ‘I will ascend above the heights of the clouds ; I will make myself like the Most High.’ (Isaiah 14)

It all begins in the heart. He sees himself as being better than what he really is. He wants to ascend above God. He wants to be like God (worshiped). Interestingly enough, that is the very tactic that Satan uses to tempt mankind to fall into sin:

5 “For God knows that in the day you eat from it your eyes will be opened, and you will be like God, knowing good and evil.” (Genesis 3)

Satan wants to be like God and he wants to be worshiped, by God Himself. This is what he (Satan) tells God the Son, Jesus Christ:

8 Again, the devil took Him to a very high mountain and showed Him all the kingdoms of the world and their glory ; 9 and he said to Him, “All these things I will give You, if You fall down and worship me.” (Matthew 4)

Satan desires to be worshiped and his followers are the same. I want to present a quote to you from a comment that was written to me by an atheist. You can draw the connections and conclusions.

If he (God) even has the right to ‘belief’, worship or respect? As shown above, he (God) deserves none of those things. Satan (if he exists; he’s all part of the fairytale that is ‘Religion’ too) is deserving of worship & respect.

And via the simple fact that I’ve never killed anyone in my life – nor do I want to ever – therefore proves that I‘m infinitely superior – certainly morally – to your ‘God’ (if he exists, that is). If anything, he should be bowing down and worshiping me.

Do you see what I see? The bad news for this person is that the same condemnation that is awaiting Satan (the lake of fire) is awaiting this person. The good news of the Gospel is that this person can repent and be forgiven of his arrogance (unlike Satan). My prayer for him is that he will come to his senses like the prodigal son and return to his Creator in humbleness asking for forgiveness and a changed heart.

7 comments on “Satan’s followers are just like him

  1. Nicely said. I like seeing the comparison. I do so hate when someone who claims not to believe anything then tries to use our belief against us though. Maybe one day they will figure out that we spend time in the word, so their claims of the word are proven wrong as they fall from their lips.

    Come check out Hardcore Christian Men for more of my thoughts on topics like this.

  2. As scripture says, the fool has said in his heart, “There is no God.” Disbelief in God definitely causes some foolish statements. I pray that God reveals Himself to this person.

  3. I know we’re not on good terms, and, believe me, I’m fine with that. There’s something, though, I honestly want to ask you. Every time someone has come up with a logical rebuttal or theory, you start backtracking and talking about how you have to study this and that in it’s original context or language in order to get the “real” message that God is sending. If you don’t cross-reference this with that, you won’t understand what is REALLY being said. I’ve seen you use this defense with scripture that quotes child murder, genocide, rape, incest, and homosexuality to name a few.

    My question is: how is the every day, person who is of average or below intelligence supposed to know all these so called facts? Does it take a PHD in theology in order to understand the Bible in it’s entirety. Are those incapable of understanding complex analogies just supposed to wing it? It just doesn’t make logical sense that a God who made every one and every thing wouldn’t make their guide to living in this world completely understandable for every person. If the Bible is infallible, then it doesn’t need your expansive study in order to defend it. It either is or isn’t inspired by God so that all can understand.

    • I am not on bad terms with you. I do all that I can on my part to live at peace with all people. That does not mean compromising my stance on certain issues. Again, I have nothing against you. I may disagree with you but I am not against you.

      Child murder? Genocide? Rape? Incest? I do not think so. The only question that I ask when people bring up the fact that God told the Israelites to wipe out the people of the Canaan is “should criminals have to pay for their crimes?” I still have not received a yes or no answer. Is 400 plus years enough time and warning for people to change their ways? All I get is spin and deflecting. Until those two issues are dealt with, we cannot move any further in a “logical” debate.

      If you want to know how an everyday person can understand the Bible it is very simple. There are simple skills for understanding any form of literature on this planet. When applied the truth of a text changes from being subjective (this is what I am looking for) to objective (I discover what is already there). Those are 2 completely different methods and will usually lead to 2 completely different ends. Now, if you want to understand the heart of God as He has revealed Himself in the Bible, you must have the Spirit of God (the Holy Spirit, which is received when a person repents of his/her sins, accepts Christ as Lord/Master/Ruler and Savior, and dedicates himself/herself to being a follower of Jesus Christ). That Spirit, along with simple Bible study (literature study) tools will allow any person, from the most ordinary to the most well educated, to understand and apply God’s Word. Here is a link to a source that will help develop those study skills.

    • I admit, I have not. I will do it (as I have said). I have 2 kids and a lot of traveling to do over the next couple of weeks.

Leave a Reply

