My tribute to Melvin “Bubba” Brewer or “Dad”

I was thinking about what I wanted to say at Dad’s funeral today. I could not quite come up with the words to put it all in order so I just opened the Scriptures for some inspiration. That is one thing that the Scriptures do for me, they inspire. As I was thinking, I realized that my Dad was also an inspiration to me. In fact, I believe he was so inspiring because of his love for the Scriptures and his desire to live them out in his daily life. My Dad was genuine. What you saw was what you got. He did not “play” church. He did not want to impress everyone with his “Christian” lingo. He just put his head down and “did” what the Bible says to do instead of just talking about what the Bible says that we should do. He knew how to love. He loved his wife with all of his heart. He loved his sons with everything that he was. We never had a stranger walk into our house (once you walked in the door you were a friend and treated like a family member). Our friends were part of the family. All people were treated with respect. Dad set the tone for that. Dad loved to spend time with us. He spelled “love” the way that children do “t-i-m-e”. We could depend on him to be there for us. It has been difficult over the past few days being at the house and not seeing him. He was our refuge and our rock. We always knew that he was on our side. These are just some of the things that pop into my head when I think about growing up with Dad. I think that I can find an even better description of Dad in the Word of God. Here it is. I believe that those who knew him well would agree with what the following says.

4 Love is patient, love is kind and is not jealous ; love does not brag and is not arrogant, 5 does not act unbecomingly ; it does not seek its own, is not provoked, does not take into account a wrong suffered, 6 does not rejoice in unrighteousness, but rejoices with the truth ; 7 bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things. 8 Love never fails ; but if there are gifts of prophecy, they will be done away ; if there are tongues, they will cease ; if there is knowledge, it will be done away. 13 But now faith, hope, love, abide these three ; but the greatest of these is love. (I Corinthians 13)

  1. Patient – he listened to us, he worked with us, he taught us, (he was the ultimate life coach)
  2. Kind – he was gentle, he was fair and firm but always with gentleness
  3. Rejoices in the truth – he taught us how to be honest men, he was honest with us and wanted us to be honest with all people
  4. Bears all things – we knew that there was nothing that he would abandon us for, he was with us until the end, we knew that and it gave us confidence
  5. Believes all things – he made us feel like we could do anything but only required that we do the best that we could in everything
  6. Hopes all things – even while going through the worst of things, he saw the potential good, he hoped in the Lord’s power and taught us to be optimistic as he was
  7. Endures all things – he fought the battle of his life to the end, he taught us to carry every task to the end, no matter what, especially when you did not feel like doing something
  8. Never fails – he was our rock, he was our comfort, he was our refuge, he never failed us, ever

Dad personified these beautiful attributes. These are the attributes of a child of God. He did not just talk about them; he lived them. I pray (with the Lord’s help) that I can fill these “big shoes” that my Daddy leaves behind for the men of my generation. I will trust in the Lord and follow Him as Dad did so that I can do my part to impact people for good the way that he impacted so many in his short lifetime. I love you Daddy and thank you so much for your love. Rest in peace in the presence of the Lord. We still have work to do here but we will be there with you some day. I hope I make you proud.

Enhanced by Zemanta
3 comments on “My tribute to Melvin “Bubba” Brewer or “Dad”

  1. Erik, I can’t imagine what you must be going through right now. My heart and prayers are with you brother. Praise the Lord you had such a Godly example as a father. I have observed some of these same Godly characteristics in you as a father in just the short time I have seen you with Abigail and Emmy. Keep stepping into to those “big shoes” and with each day of faithfulness to the Lord, your feet will grow to fit those shoes, and with God’s help, Emmy will have even bigger shoes to fill! God Bless, Richard Sanders

    • Thank you Richard. It has been tough but God has been our comfort and the fact that he is now in His presence. I appreciate your kind words, thoughts, and prayers. We miss you guys and hope to be able to spend more time together in the near future. We fly back on the 10th of Jan. God bless brother.

  2. God bless you! I know Bubba was so proud of his family! You guys are a great example for all you come in contact with. I remember holding Bubba and Beverly when they were very small (Bubba wasn’t walking yet). Avis (my sister) and I would baby sit ever so often and I have great memories with every minute we had together. Love you guys. Inez

Leave a Reply

