Blessings and Protection from God

I want to share this article with you, based on Psalm 91. As we go through life, we have choices to make and as people, we are prone to making bad choices and getting ourselves into trouble. God, our Creator, made us and He knows how we tick so that is why He offers to help us make the right choices (as well as rescuing us when we do make bad choices). He lays this out in His Word, in many places. I would like to focus on Psalm 91, looking at God’s part, at my part, and then finally the results of following God’s way. Here is Psalm 91.

1 He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High Will abide in the shadow of the Almighty. 2 I will say to the LORD, “My refuge and my fortress, My God, in whom I trust!” 3 For it is He who delivers you from the snare of the trapper And from the deadly pestilence. 4 He will cover you with His pinions, And under His wings you may seek refuge; His faithfulness is a shield and bulwark. 5 You will not be afraid of the terror by night, Or of the arrow that flies by day; 6 Of the pestilence that stalks in darkness, Or of the destruction that lays waste at noon. 7 A thousand may fall at your side And ten thousand at your right hand, But it shall not approach you. 8 You will only look on with your eyes And see the recompense of the wicked. 9 For you have made the LORD, my refuge, Even the Most High, your dwelling place. 10 No evil will befall you, Nor will any plague come near your tent. 14 “Because he has loved Me, therefore I will deliver him; I will set him securely on high, because he has known My name. 15 “He will call upon Me, and I will answer him; I will be with him in trouble; I will rescue him and honor him. 16 “With a long life I will satisfy him And let him see My salvation.”

I. God’s Part

He is the one who delivers. God delivers us from the traps that are set for us by others and also from the traps that we set for ourselves. Verse 3 tells us that there are two types of woes that await us, traps that are set for us by others or mistakes that we make. The other woe is pestilence. This again is something from without, or, something that we do not have control over. In verse 4, He covers us (like a mother hen)  under His wing. This is protection from the evil things around us. These are promises that God makes and He wants us to know them and believe them by putting them to the test (obeying Him). He is faithful, no matter what. Verse 14 says that God delivers those who love Him (those who have fallen into the pit or jumped, as well as those who have been struck by pestilence). God pulls us out of the pits (traps) and sets us securely on high (if we turn to Him for help). In verse 15, we see that He answers those who call on Him (in their time of need). He rescues and honors those who turn to Him before their time of need as well as during their time of need. God is the Maker of life and He sets the number of days that a person has. If you want to have many days and longevity of life then you need to turn to God. He does not just give us longevity in life but also satisfaction in life. How many people are not satisfied with their lives, seeking satisfaction through so many different things yet never finding it? God saves (in this case, literal salvation and not spiritual). There are so many promises that God makes for us and so many benefits. God is good. He wants us to prosper in this life if we will just follow Him.

II. My Part

If I want to benefit from all of the things that God has to offer, then there are some conditions, I must do what He says. God lays out the plan. In verse 1, I must dwell in His shelter. In other words, I must walk with God daily, in His shadow, as stated in another passage. I must trust in the Lord and I do that by knowing who He is and walking with Him daily. If I find myself in trouble, I need to turn to Him right away instead of trying to “get out of it” by my own wisdom and “friends in high places”. In verse 14, it is stated another way, we are to love God and know His name (character). Knowing His character means to know how He has acted in the past and how He will act in the present and future (based on how He has acted in the past) and then live accordingly. Call out to God at all times, walk with Him at all times and He will protect you and you will be satisfied in this life. If you do not, then your life will fall apart around you (and you will be the guilty party). Which makes more sense, to walk with God and have His protection or to do things on your own, have your life fall apart and then have to turn to God (if you ever do)? To me, it makes more sense to follow God before trouble comes so that when it does, I will immediately trust in God.

III. Results

The first benefit of this walk with God is that I get to spend every day in the presence of the Creator of the universe! What a blessing! Who would not want to walk side by side with the Creator of this universe who has infinite wisdom to give and wants to protect you? I have a place of refuge in the midst of the storms of life and who would not want that? If I do fall or experience pestilence then I have deliverance from the Creator of the universe. I do not fear day or night because I have protection from the Lord. While the people around me do not know what each day will bring and fear, I have peace, even in the midst of the deadliest storms of life. Verse 15 says that I will also be honored if I walk with Him. He honors me and the people around me will honor me because of Him. God will bless me with long life and I will be satisfied in this life because I walk with God and He with me. I will be blessed and protected along with my family. There are nothing but benefits so why would I not walk with God?

Do you walk with God? Do you know His character through His Word? Do you know how He has acted in the past so that you can trust in Him moment by moment? Where do you turn when you go through the storms of life? Who is your helper and deliverer? Why not turn to God now instead of having to hit rock bottom, in the midst of pestilence or in the pit of life (despair)? He is all that you need in this life.

Leave a Reply

