Impacting the lives of your classmates

I taught at our youth meeting last night, the first one of the new school year. I preached a message on the importance of impacting your classmates with the Gospel. I would like to share the message with you here, especially if you are a student.

For the history buffs, I began the message with a motivational quote from the great General Grant,

Hold fast to the Bible. To the influence of this Book we are indebted for all the progress made in true civilization and to this we must look as our guide in the future.

Do you really believe this? Are you ready to do your part to help others develop a relationship with this guide? I want this lesson to be a helpful tool in achieving that goal of making the Bible a guide for life for many, many people.

I. Use your blog

I was motivated by my teacher back in 2006 to start a blog where I can share the Gospel 24/7, all over the world. I have worked hard over the years to write relevant articles that answer questions about the Bible. Whenever I meet new people, as I get to know them, I usually end up talking about the Bible. I discover that they have many questions about God and the Bible. I share what I can at the moment and then give them a link to my blog so that they can read and comment. I have had a lot of success with this method. I always advise Christians to have blogs and to write in a way to share the Gospel in a relevant manner. When they start a new school year and meet new students, they can promote their blog as they get to know each other and this is a method of stirring up people’s desires to know about God and the Bible. In order to be ready, you need to be a good student of the Bible. It is important to discipline yourself to study the Bible daily, getting to know God and His ways so that you can give an answer to those who ask about the hope that you have, just as St. Peter tells us.

always being ready to make a defense to everyone who asks you to give an account for the hope that is in you, yet with gentleness and reverence (I Peter 3:15)

The way that you make yourself ready is by studying the Bible, not just to have an answer but first and foremost, so that you can live out God’s will on a daily basis. You should have the attitude of the Psalmist when it comes to God’s Word.

2 But his delight is in the law of the LORD, And in His law he meditates day and night. (Psalm 1)

Is this your attitude? Do you do this day and night? If you want to have an impact in the lives of your classmates then this should be your desire and way of life.

II. Do not miss a single opportunity

St. Paul uses a great illustration to describe what it is like to be victorious in Christ, impacting the lives of the people around you, including your classmates (colleagues). Let’s take a look at what St. Paul uses . . .

14 But thanks be to God, who always leads us in triumph in Christ, and manifests through us the sweet aroma of the knowledge of Him in every place. (II Corinthians 2)

Many people are afraid to speak with others because they will not know what to say or will be embarrassed by the person’s questions. God has promised us victory. He takes us in His victory chariot so victory is guaranteed. All we have to do is trust in that victory and stand firm and be bold in that chariot. When we do this, we will be a pleasing aroma of Christ to the people around us. It is like when a person enters a room with sweet smelling perfume or cologne, everyone smells it. When we walk in a room, people know that we are Christ followers because He seeps through our pores via our attitude, words, and actions. One of the best ways to do this is, is as you meet and greet your new classmates, invite them to join you for coffee or tea and get to know them better. Guys focus on the guys and girls focus on the girls. As you have coffee with them one on one, share with them about your life, how God changed you and how you serve Him at the moment. Another method is to use Facebook. Invite your new classmates to befriend you on Facebook and they will see what you share. Make sure that your posts are Gospel honoring. This past summer I had an awesome experience on Facebook. One of my classmates from high school gave birth and I wrote on Facebook to congratulate her. She wrote back and told me how she follows all of my posts on Facebook and is always encouraged to think about her relationship with God. It really works if you will do it. As you get to know them, discover when their birthdays are and use their birthdays as an opportunity to give them a Bible study manual as a gift. God will work through this because God says . . .

16 A man’s gift makes room for him And brings him before great men. (Proverbs 18)

Birthdays are an awesome opportunity to share the Gospel with others, especially when you are able to offer a gift.

III. Be a leader during class

Prepare well so that you can participate in the class discussions. Be the best student in class so that you can help others, so that you can be an example for them in all things. When they need help, offer to help them, not to show them what you know and what they don’t but, instead, do it so that you can get to know them and share the good news of the Gospel. Another reason to be prepared for class is that many opportunities will present themselves as you have classroom discussions, opportunities where you can share what the Word of God teaches on certain subjects. There will be discussions that deny the creation of mankind, like in a biology class. There will be other opportunities when the authenticity of the Word of God will be questioned, say in a philosophy class. Use these discussions to defend your faith as well as give people practical advice. Present the Bible study manuals that can be useful to young people. The truth about sex would be one. Another would be “Marriage without Regrets“. Yet another would be “how to make choices you will not regret“. I wish that I would have known this when I was in school. I use this method today, even though I am not a student anymore. When I meet new people I use the same tactics. Just the other day I went to visit a campsite for future ministry via camps. While there, I mentioned teaching the truth about sex in school and from there we had a discussion about the Bible, Christianity, marriage, weddings, etc. It was a great time of sharing the Gospel with a person who was so interested in knowing what God says about everyday topics. People are hungry for God and His Word and life presents us with many, many opportunities to be a fragrant aroma of Jesus Christ in every place. It depends on me, and it depends on you. Am I going to share or not? Do I prepare for these meetings in advance so that I will have something to share or not?

I pray that the Lord will use this article to motivate you to take advantage of every opportunity. May the Lord bless you.

Leave a Reply

