A letter from God and Gratitude

This past week was a good week for me and for the pastors of Hoffmantown Church. We had our annual pastors’ retreat in beautiful Pagosa Springs, Colorado. While there, we reflected on the love that the Lord has for us and the high calling that we have all answered, to shepherd the Lord’s flock in His local church. I was privileged to be with my brothers in Christ and hear their stories of how the Lord called them. I was able to share my story as well. It was a blessed time. One of our personal assignments was to write a letter to ourselves, from God. It was a neat assignment. We had to spend some time alone with the Lord and then write, from a Biblical perspective, a letter that we thought He would write to us. After that assignment, we were to list all of the things that we were grateful for that the Lord has given to us or done for us. Here is what I wrote:

Dear Erik,
I created you the way that you are. You are beautifully and wonderfully made. I have a great plan that I want to accomplish and I want to invite you to join in that great plan. As you walk with Me, I will reveal things about Myself that you do not know. I will also reveal things about you that you do not realize are there. I want you to face those things and allow Me to change them. I do not love you any less because of those things. In fact, I love you so much that I want to help remove those things from you. You have amazing potential if you walk with Me and allow Me to teach you as I guide you and pour into your life. At times, there will be pain but I will be with you. In the end, I will have worked in you and through you and will reward you for My work. All I want from you is availability, surrender, and a teachable spirit. I will never force you to do anything. I will invite you to do things and allow Me to do things in you and through you. You will spend your life allowing Me to flow in you and through you to accomplish My purposes in your life and my overall purposes. I do not need you to accomplish these things but I want to work in you and with you to accomplish My will. Are you willing to walk with Me and surrender your will to Mine for your own good and for the good of those around you?

Love Eternally,
Adonai – El Shaddai

Things I am grateful to God for:

  • I am healthy
  • I have been born again
  • I have been set free from sin’s death grip
  • I have been invited to join in on God’s great plan for all eternity
  • I breathe air I do not pay for
  • I am warmed by sunshine that I do nothing to deserve
  • I had great parents who sacrificed much to raise me
  • I have teachers who invested in me, teaching me how to read and write so that I can study the Bible, be transformed by God, and invest the Word of God in others
  • I am grateful for my wife who makes me a better man
    • She introduced me to inductive Bible study
    • She introduced me to the ministry in Moldova
    • She got me involved with Precept Eurasia
    • She ministers with me
  • I am grateful for my 3 healthy children who are learning to walk with God
  • I am grateful for a pay check and the ability to be paid for serving the Lord
  • I get to do what I love every day and I get paid for it
  • I have a mentor who changed my life
  • I am grateful for the ministry of Precept Eurasia
  • I am grateful for all of my Moldovan brothers and sisters in Christ who welcomed me into their lives and taught me how to minister the Gospel in a very practical way
  • I am grateful for disciples who are making disciples who are making disciples
  • I am grateful for all of the people who have sacrificed so much over the years so that I can have God’s Word in a language that I can understand
  • I am grateful for all of the scholars who have made the richness of Hebrew and Greek available to me in a language that I can understand
  • I am grateful for technology and being able to use Social Media and blogging to share the message of the Gospel with so many people on a daily basis
  • I am grateful to be able to serve at Hoffmantown church and be a part of the amazing things that God is doing.
  • I am grateful to be able to travel to distant lands and serve fellow brothers and sisters in Christ, as well as serve with them to reach their own people for the Lord
  • I am grateful to be a trainer for Precept Eurasia and the friendships that have come out of teaching sessions in Poland and Moldova
  • I am grateful for the material blessings of Hoffmantown to be able to impact more and more people with the Gospel
  • I am grateful that my Dad repented before he passed away and now he is in the presence of the Lord
  • I am grateful to have had the opportunity to preach the Gospel at my grandfather’s funeral. Many of my relatives were there who needed to hear the message of the Gospel
  • I am grateful for computers in being able to use them for the furtherance of the Gospel
    • Preparing sermons
    • Making lesson plans
    • Writing blog lessons
    • Getting the info out on social media
  • I am grateful for every person who takes time to invest in my spiritual life
Leave a Reply

