Why is the pro traditional marriage discussion needed in churches?

I would like to begin this article with a few quotes from my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.

13 “You are the salt of the earth ; but if the salt has become tasteless, how can it be made salty again? It is no longer good for anything, except to be thrown out and trampled under foot by men. 14 “You are the light of the world. A city set on a hill cannot be hidden ; 15 nor does anyone light a lamp and put it under a basket, but on the lampstand, and it gives light to all who are in the house. 16 “Let your light shine before men in such a way that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father who is in heaven. (Matthew 5)

This is Jesus Christ’s Word to His disciples, His followers who later came to carry His name as “Christians”. I would just like to point out a few key points.

  1. Jesus’ disciples are the salt of the earth. Salt during our days is mostly used to add flavor or taste to what we eat. We must realize that the culture to which Jesus speaks here in this passage is a culture that used salt to cure food and stop decay. Jesus uses a figure of speech to explain a great spiritual truth to His followers. He tells them “you are the ones who are to live in such a way that you stop the decay of sin around you”. As a warning, He tells them that if they lose their saltiness, i.e. the societal decay around them then they are like the salt that has lost its saltiness and no longer good for its purpose. Keep this in mind as I share some discussions with you.
  2. Jesus’ disciples are the light of the world. In the Bible, sin and righteousness are explained in the form of Light and Darkness. Light is righteousness (right with God, being correct) and darkness is sin. The world is dark because of sin and the disciples are told to live in such a way that their light shines in the darkness and those lost in sin see your good works and instead of walking against God in sin, they turn to God and begin to glorify Him. Keep this in mind as you read the following discussion about gay marriage, promoting decay and darkness openly throughout society.

Christian #1

I am Christian but I still support gay marriage I don’t judge anyone.

My response

not agreeing and judging are two totally different things

Christian #1

Judging means to have an opinion over something. And my opinions to this whole gay and lesbian thing is not to worry about the way they are let God take care of us all and bless us.

My response

In a Biblical sense, there are two kinds of judging. One is incorrect and wrong. The other is correct and we are commanded to do it as genuine believers. When Jesus said “do not judge, He explains in the context what negative judging is, condemning someone else for something that you yourself also do. Later, in that some passage (Matthew 7), He tells us to judge between the dogs and pigs (in this sense, judging means discern between good and bad). St. Paul, later in Corinthians, speak harshly to the church because they are not judging the sinner (discerning that his sin is wrong and taking action) and he judges that person. This is the correct form of judging and not what Jesus was talking about in the sermon on the mount in Matthew 7. Also, in that same sermon, Jesus calls His followers (you including if you claim to be a Christian) to be salt and light. Salt was used back then to stop decay from spreading. Sin causes decay and not standing against it is the same as not being salt or being salt that has lost its saltiness. That kind of salt is useless and needs to be thrown out. I want to challenge you to study up on these things before making blanketing statements that are doctrinally wrong, especially if you claim to carry the name of Christ as a Christian. God bless.

Christian #2

I can’t stand that! If you want to educate someone, you are going about it the wrong way! That post was filled with antagonizing and patronizing tone and statements. Or at least that is how it came across to me (and I am not the one this post was directed to). As a christian, I flee from people like you! If I am wrong, its ok to say so. It kinda makes me a little sick that some people that I know personally are supporting your behavior! I thought the church I belonged to was about spreading the message of god through love and support. Go ahead! Tell ME I’M not a Christ Follower!

As for the one who is weak in faith, welcome him, but not to quarrel over opinions. One person believes he may eat anything, while the weak person eats only vegetables. Let not the one who eats despise the one who abstains, and let not the one who abstains pass judgment on the one who eats, for God has welcomed him. Who are you to pass judgment on the servant of another? It is before his own master that he stands or falls. And he will be upheld, for the Lord is able to make him stand. One person esteems one day as better than another, while another esteems all days alike. Each one should be fully convinced in his own mind. …  Romans 14:1-13

My response

Opinions vs. morals (two different arguments) the text that you used explains this. Pay more attention next time. God bless. (no one said that you were not a Christian). If you read it as patronizing, I am sorry. That was not the tone. I just wanted to point out some holes in the lady’s argument.

Is it love and support to see a drug addict and not offer to help him overcome his addiction, to lie to him and tell him everything is okay?

Christian #2

As I said Erik, if I am wrong its ok to tell me. Its ok for you to educate me. But to insinuate the one is not a Christian because they made an error or do not understand the text as you do is wrong. I do believe you were patronizing and you meant to be. Your words were harsh when they did not need to be. If it is your mission to educate others and spread the word…. a more LOVING tone will get you further. Telling someone to “pay attention next time. God bless” is patronizing.

My response

I did not say that you were not a Christian, or anyone else. I just pointed out what Jesus taught/teaches/will teach His followers. He is the One who said that the salt that is no longer salty is good for nothing but to be thrown out. You problem then, is with Him, not me. I just passed on the information. Don’t shoot the messenger just because you do not like the message. So now you know my motives? That is funny, the Bible teaches that you do not have the right to read someone’s motives (what they are thinking as they say something or what they “really” had in mind). Again, I am just pointing out some flaws that you are making along with Vicki. I could say that I think it is patronizing to make blanket statements like “do not judge others”. This is the problem with our modern culture. The intolerable crime is not accepting everyone’s truth. If you take a stand and make a statement about Truth, you are seen as unloving, even if you stand against something that destroys the lives of others.

Christian #2

I can not stand it when two people who believe in the same Christ can not just unite and love one another. One of the biggest issues the Christian Church faces is the stigma of “judgement” not in the biblical sense but the Websters dictionary definition. Christians telling other Christians they are not christian enough! Making them feel less, or not close to god. My issue is never with God or Jesus. I have a personal relationship with both. My issue remains with you. “The intolerable crime is not accepting everyone’s truth. If you take a stand and make a statement about Truth, you are seen as unloving, even if you stand against something that destroys the lives of others.”(wow I’m pretty sure you need to read that back to yourself) Its actually a very hypocritical statement.

My point is we are supposed to bring people to the lord..even homosexuals. Don’t they belong to God? We are supposed to tech them “the way, the truth, the light”, how can we..if they feel cast aside by people like you (not Jesus or God). We are all sinners right?

My response

Accepting gay marriage is not the same as bringing people to the Light. You are confusing two different things. I have studied the subject of homosexuality from a Biblical perspective. You can see why I stand on the teachings of the Bible. Again, I refer to the drug addict, will legalizing his vice be a good step in leading him to the Light?

Christian #2

Your tone sir, is the problem. How can anyone get past it to hear your message? Your message has been lost to me because of your delivery. You can apologize all you want to me for your errors, however our opportunities to reach people are often limited. No one said you have to accept gay marriage. Suppose the original poster was gay. Or someone who does not understand fully the message of God. One of the most popular quotes from the bible is “judge not..”… so say they do not understand that fully. You would have had the opportunity to reach out and educate them… Instead you made them feel cast aside, not a Christ follower and like they destroy lives.

My response

First of all, calling sin a sin is not “slamming” others. Should we not point out that murder is wrong? Should we encourage murderers to form groups and ask for their rights to live out their lives the way that they want, even if there are “victims”? Secondly, your quote “As I have loved you, love one another” is taken way out of context. That is Jesus speaking to His disciples, people who follow His leading, accepting what He accepts and condemning what He condemns. Applying this quote the every person in the world is just wrong. I am not against homosexuals. I am against the sin of homosexuality. There is a huge difference. God loves the sinner but He hates the sinners sin and tells him that openly.

Christian #2

Erik’s message is hate filled. It is evident by his blog. He seeks not to bring them to the lord..he wants only to condemn them. I will not further acknowledge him or his message

My response

Calling sin a sin is not hate. You seem a big confused. Disagreeing with someone is not the same as hate. A do not agree with anyone who lives in and promotes any form of sexual immorality (like cohabitation).

I do not understand, are you a tolerant person or an intolerant one?

As you can see, these Christians have been influenced by the philosophies of this current age instead of being led by the Word of God. What about you, who or what influences you, the Word of God or the philosophies of this current age? I pray that if you claim the name of Christ you will study the Scriptures so that the illogical wisdom of this current age will not influence you in a negative way. May the Lord bless you.

P.S.

I would love to hear your thoughts on this subject.

One comment on “Why is the pro traditional marriage discussion needed in churches?

  1. Pingback: Why Are Christians Being Trampled On? | LifeVesting

Leave a comment